While there are many beautiful and historic school buildings throughout the country, few reside within a National Park boundary and have the fascinating history in the way that Moyles Court School does. Past pupils ‘Old Courtians’ meet annually to reminisce fondly of their school days. We encourage leaving students to keep in touch and the ‘Old Courtians’ welcome new members. Please contact email@example.com for more information.
History of Moyles Court School
The Manor of Rockford is mentioned in the Domesday Book of 1087 and there has been a substantial house on this site since the Middle Ages. Moyles Court takes its name from the Moels family, who became lords of the manor of Ellingham in 1320, while ‘Court’ indicates its function as a legal assembly where disputes were settled.
Moyles Court became best known in the 17th century when it was owned by Lady Alice Lisle. Her husband John achieved high office during the Interregnum but was forced to flee the country when the monarchy was restored in 1660. In 1685, following the ill-fated Monmouth Rebellion, Alice was accused of harbouring traitors and found guilty by the infamous Judge Jeffries at the first of the ‘Bloody Assizes’. Alice Lisle’s execution in Winchester sent a shock-wave through the country, and it is clear that her trial was a travesty of justice. Her estate was confiscated, but was returned to the Lisle family after James II was forced out of power at the Glorious Revolution.
In the early 19th century Moyles Court was sold when Charles Lisle died without issue. The land was farmed by the new owner but the building was left redundant until the 1860s when it was carefully restored by Rev Frederick Fane, a keen amateur archaeologist.
The house continued to be used as a domestic residence until the Second World War when it was requisitioned by the British Government.
Moyles Court became the Officers’ Mess for the new RAF base at Ibsley. It became a school in 1963.